Fair Housing Basics and Trends for Multi-Family Housing Providers is a good class for beginners or seasoned professionals in the property management business. This class is certified for 3 hours of CAM through GDAA and for 3 CEU hours for Licensees with the Ohio Division of Real Estate through the Miami Valley Fair Housing Center. In addition to a review of fair housing basics, the course will focus on some of the important trends in fair housing. Since 60% of all fair housing complaints that are filed annually across the nation are based on disability, the class material will focus on how to serve people with disabilities in an inclusive manner and give pointers on how to avoid liability under fair housing laws. Other important parts of the course will give information on recent guidance from HUD on:
- Occupancy Standards and familial status protections
- Advertising: word usage and best practices in marketing
- compliance with the 2016 Anti-Harassment regulation including some best practices to deal with tenant-on-tenant harassment.
- The use of criminal History in screening
The Miami Valley Fair Housing Center provides assistance to victims of housing discrimination and provides education for professionals whose work intersects with the provision of housing.
For More Information:
Dayton, Ohio 45439 (937) 293-1170
About the Instructor
John Zimmerman is the Vice President of the Miami Valley Fair Housing Center, Inc., in Dayton, Ohio. He is a Fair Housing Instructor certified by the Ohio Division of Real Estate to conduct classes providing continuing education credits for REALTORS® and appraisers since 2001. Since 1999 he has been an instructor of fair housing courses certified for CAM continuing education credits. He instructs staff from: Permanent Supportive Housing properties, Rural Housing 515, LIHTC properties, Project Based Section 8 properties, 202/811 properties, and Public Housing. He has a Bachelor’s degree from Capital University in Columbus, Ohio. He lives in Miamisburg, Ohio.
*No cancellations or refunds accepted within 2 days of the course/event. No-shows will be billed. Non-members must pay in advance or at the door.